Copyright © 2015             Topeka Scottish Rite Bodies
Ronald A. Seale, 33º KCCH
Sovereign Grand Commander
Southern Jurisdiction, USA

Hugh W. Gill, III, 33º
Sovereign Grand Inspector General
Orient of Kansas

Donald L. Jacka , 32º KCCH
Valley Personal Representative
of the S.G.I.G in Kansas

Paul R. Oldham, 33º
Valley Executive Secretary

Francis Kelsey, 32º KCCH
Venerable Master
Topeka Lodge of Perfection

Bob Amyx, 33º
Wise Master, Topeka Chapter
Knights Rose Croix

Tom Rigg, 32º KCCH
Commander, Topeka Council
Knights Kadosh

Kyle Ferlemann 32º KCCH
Master of Kadosh
Topeka Consistory
2300 SW 30th St
Topeka, KS 66611-1711
Office Phone - (785) 266-3191
SmartFax - (785) 266-3191
Webmaster - Marvin L. Stovall, 33º
    The Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry, commonly known as simply the Scottish Rite, is one of several Rites within the worldwide fraternity of Freemasonry. A Rite is a series of progressive degrees that are conferred by various Masonic organizations or bodies, each of which operates under the control of its own central authority. In the Scottish Rite the central authority is called a Supreme Council.
    The Scottish Rite is one of the appendant bodies of Freemasonry that a Master Mason may join for further exposure to the principles of Freemasonry. In England and some other countries, while the Scottish Rite is not accorded official recognition by the Grand Lodge, there is no prohibition against a Freemason electing to join it. In the United States, however, the Scottish Rite is officially recognized by Grand Lodges as an extension of the degrees of Freemasonry. The Scottish Rite builds upon the ethical teachings and philosophy offered in the craft lodge, or Blue Lodge, through dramatic presentation of the individual degrees.
What Is The Scottish Rite?
Of the thirty-three degrees recognized by the Scottish Rite, the first three are are performed by the Craft Lodge which are the Entered Apprentice, Fellowcraft, and Master Mason degrees. The 4º through 14º are performed by the Lodge of Perfection, the 15º through 18º by the Chapter of Rose Croix, the 19º through 30º by the Council of Kadosh, and the 31º and 32º by the Consistory. The 33º is an honorary degree bestowed upon a member for exceptional service to Freemasonry, the Scottish Rite, and their Community. It should also be noted that the degrees of the Scottish Rite are not "higher" or more prestigious than their counterparts. They are simply progressively numbered to show exposure to additional Masonic education and knowledge of its principles. The "highest" degree anyone will ever attain within Freemasonry, is that of the 3º or Master Mason.
    The Valley of Topeka is one of seven Scottish Rite Valley's (jurisdictions) within Kansas. There are also Valley's in Fort Scott, Kansas City, Lawrence, Leavenworth, Salina and Wichita. They are collectively known as an Orient and are led by the Sovereign Grand Inspector General (S.G.I.G.) of Kansas.
    The Orient of Kansas is under the jurisdiction of the Supreme Council of the Southern Jurisdicion of the United States, which is located in Washinton D.C., and is govened by the Grand Commander. For more information, a link to their web site is located above.